From BroaDWcast
Revision as of 02:02, 22 May 2019 by John Lavalie (talk | contribs)
Jump to navigationJump to search
Airwaves, March 1985
Network: PBS Channel(s): 21
First airing: 1983 Last airing:

Airwaves, March 1985

  • 18 March 1983: Doctor Who begins with two episodes and Once Upon a Time Lord.
  • 25 March 1983: The series begins its regular timeslot, Friday nights at 10:30.
  • 4 September 1983: The series moves to Sunday afternoons at 5:00.
  • 23 November 1983: The Five Doctors airs.
  • 3 December 1983: Both Peter Cushing movies air as part of Saturday Night Friends.
  • 11 March 1984: Five episodes air as part of The Transformation of Dr. Who Special.
  • 9-10 March 1985: A 26-hour marathon of ten Jon Pertwee stories, including four "new" ones that had not been previously released for the US market. The four "new" stories were: Spearhead from Space, Frontier in Space, Planet of the Daleks, Invasion of the Dinosaurs (in five parts only), which had recently been released by the BBC as part of a complete re-package of all 24 Pertwee adventures. The Illinois/Wisconsin area TV Guide previewed the marathon with a half-page ad. This ad was subsequently used in a flyer at TJ's Comics near Chicago urging local fans to contact the programming department at channel 11. (It wasn't until 1986/87 that WTTW aired these four new stories.)
  • 11 October 1986: Season 22 airs in its entirety.
  • May 1987: The series moves from its regular 4pm Sunday afternoon slot to Saturdays at 10am.
  • 10 October 1987: All 14 episodes of The Trial of a Time Lord air back to back, from 10am to 6pm, with pledge breaks in between the episodes.
  • 3 September 1989: The series moves to Sundays at 11pm with yet another recycling of the Tom Baker stories starting with Robot. (Incidentally, the series was preceded by Blake's 7 at 10pm.) It stays in this 11pm slot for the next three years.
  • 19 August 1990: The package of 24 reissued Jon Pertwee stories commence.
  • 17 March 1991: After the Pertwees, a run of Peter Davison stories commence, followed by Colin Baker from 28 July 1991, and Sylvester McCoy from 13 October 1991.
  • 2 February 1992: A repeat of the Peter Davison stories begins.
  • 5 July 1992: Colin Baker repeats start.
  • 27 September 1992: Sylvester McCoy repeats.
  • 20 December 1992: Survival ends the run on WHA.
  • 2016: The Tom Baker stories air.
The Five Doctors ad
Madison Capital Times
Wisconsin State Journal, Nov. 25, 1984
TJ's Comics flier
Chicago flier noting Pertwee marathon in Madison
Wisconsin State Journal, Dec. 4, 1988

Wisconsin State Journal, Mar. 14, 1985
Wisconsin State Journal, Feb. 2, 1986
Airwaves, May 1986
Wisconsin State Journal, May 10, 1987


Whovent 86 commercial,
PBS Pledges for WHA 1986 and 1987

WPT ident, Jan. 14, 1991